Lifetime Award

Prof. Robin Crewe

Senior Research Fellow: Centre for the Advancement of Scholarship, UP

'The complete bee person – a legend of SA science and science institutions'

Award Categories:

  • Contribution over a lifetime

TW Kambule-NSTF Award: Researcher

Prof. Lindiwe Inncocentia Zungu

Executive Dean: Graduate Studies, UNISA

'For innovatively crafting health and safety guidelines for the Mining and Health Safety Council and simultaneously designing women-specific safety gear bespoke for the underground mining conditions'

Award Categories:

  • TW Kambule-NSTF Awards: Researchers

TW Kambule-NSTF Award: Emerging Researcher

Dr Mardé Helbig

Senior lecturer: Dept of Computer Science, UP

'For the evaluation of the performance of dynamic multi-objective optimisation algorithms'

Award Categories:

  • TW Kambule-NSTF Awards: Emerging Researchers

Dr Hlumani Ndlovu

Lecturer: Div of Chemical and Systems Biology, Dept of Integrative Biomedical Sciences, UCT

'For research involving elucidated immunological mechanisms modulating
fibrogranulomatous liver pathology and mediating protective immunity'

Award Categories:

  • TW Kambule-NSTF Awards: Emerging Researchers

Management Award

Dr Happy Marumo Sithole

Director: Centre for High Performance Computing, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research

'For developing world-class High Performance Computing (HPC) capabilities in SA and empowering Africa'

Award Categories:

  • Contribution through management and related SET activities

Engineering Research Capacity Development Award

Prof. Elvis Fosso-Kankeu

Associate Professor: School of Chemical and Minerals Engineering, North-West University

'For monitoring environmental water to raise awareness among poor communities and nationally'

Award Categories:

  • Capacity Development Awards

Prof. Alison Lewis

Dean: Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment, University of Cape Town (UCT)

'For training, nurturing and mentoring students in the Crystallization and Precipitation Research Unit at UCT through new research into the recovery of valuable metals, water and minerals through innovative methods'

Award Categories:

  • Capacity Development Awards

NSTF-Lewis Foundation Green Economy Award

 Process, Energy & Environmental Technology Station (UJ-PEETS)

Technology Station Manager: Ms Nicoleen Janse van Rensburg, University of Johannesburg

'For enabling technology transfer and interaction between academia and SMMEs to stimulate and support technology innovation in the green economy by providing subsidised engineering services to SMMEs in the green economy'

Award Categories:

  • Green Economy Award

NSTF-Water Research Commission (WRC) Award

Prof. Martine Visser

Director: Environmental Policy Research Unit, and Professor of Economics, School of Economics; Research Chair: African Climate Development Initiative, University of Cape Town

'For spearheading a project with the City of Cape Town, in which behavioural nudges were successfully used to conserve water during the water crisis'

Award Categories:

  • Water Research Commission Awards

Data for Research Award

Prof. Tandi Matsha

SARChI Chair: Cardiometabolic Health, Dept of Biomedical Sciences, Cape Peninsula University of Technology

'For research into Epigenetics and transcriptome analysis of type 2 diabetes mellitus'

Award Categories:

  • Data for Research Award

Innovation Award: Corporate Organisation

 Centre for Rapid Prototyping and Manufacturing (CRPM) Unit, Central University of Technology, Free State

Director and Team Leader: Mr Gerrie Booysen

'The CRPM team uses 3D printing to rebuild deformed faces of South Africans from poor backgrounds pro bono'

Award Categories:

  • Corporate organisations

Innovation Award: Small, Medium and Micro Enterprice (SMME)

 Hydrox Holdings Ltd Team

Chief Executive Officer and Team Leader: Mr Cornelis Johannes de Jager

'For an innovative new production method to provide hydrogen inexpensively and totally pollution free'

Award Categories:

  • Small, medium and micro enterprises (SMMEs)

Communication Award

 Wits Communications Services

Head: Shirona Patel, University of the Witwatersrand (Wits)

'The Wits Communication Services team is committed to inspiring curiosity, creating new knowledge, making research accessible and impacting on society through innovative science communication'

Award Categories:

  • Communication Award

Non-Governmental Organisation (NGO) Award

 Eskom Expo for Young Scientists

Executive Director: Mr Parthy Chetty

'The Eskom Expo for Young Scientists (Expo) creates excitement for science through research-based projects and encourages more students to take up science-oriented subjects and careers'

Award Categories:

  • NGO Award

Special Annual Theme Award: Materials for inclusive economic development

Prof. Alexander Quandt

Acting Chair: Materials for Energy Research Group; Focus Area Co-ordinator: Centre of Excellence in Strong Materials, Wits

'For his pioneering work in computational materials science with applications to nano-materials, optics/photonics and renewable energy research'

Award Categories:

  • Special Annual Theme Award