Individual Research Awards

Contribution over a lifetime

Prof Helen Rees

Executive Director, Reproductive Health and HIV Institute, University of the Witwatersrand (Wits) and UNAIDS Collaborating Centre and Personal Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Wits and Honorary Professor, Department of Clinical Research, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Prof Robert Scholes

Research Group Leader, The Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) until December 2014 and Distinguished Professor of System Ecology, Wits from 2015

TW Kambule Awards: Researchers

Prof Dan Stein

Professor & Head: Dept. of Psychiatry & Mental Health, UCT Director: Brain-Behaviour Initiative, UCT; Director: SU/UCT Medical Research Council Unit on Anxiety & Stress Disorders

Prof Zander Myburg

Professor in Forest Genomics & Biotechnology, Dept. of Genetics, Forest & Agricultural Biotechnology Institute (FABI) & Genomics Research Institute (GRI), UP

For research capacity development

Prof Jennifer Jelsma

Professor: Dept. of Health & Rehabilitation Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences, UCT

Prof Nigel Bennett

Austin Roberts Chair of Mammology; SARChi: Mammal Behavioural Ecology & Physiology, UP

TW Kambule Awards: Emerging Researchers

Dr Grant Theron

Senior Research Officer: Dept. of Medicine, UCT

Dr Thulani Makhalanyane

Lecturer: Dept. of Genetics, UP; Researcher: Centre for Microbial Ecology & Genomics, UP

Special Annual Theme Award

Prof Andrew Forbes

Professor: School of Physics, Wits (as of March 2015); Previously Chief Researcher: National Laser Centre 2005 – 2015

Individual & Organisational Research Awards

GreenMatter Award (Environmental sustainability/Green Economy)

Biological Control Research Group (BCRG)

Professor Martin Hill, Head of Entomology & Director, Dept. of Zoology & Entomology, RU

Communication and outreach Award

Ms Marina Joubert

Researcher & Lecturer: Centre for Evaluation, Science & Technology (CREST), SU

Organisational Awards

Research for Innovation Awards ( SMME & Corporate)

SMME Winner - Antrum Biotech

CEO & Team Leader: Ms Khilona Radia

Corporate Winner - Innovation Support and Technology Transfer, North-West University

Chief Director: Professor Deon de Beer

NGO Award

Western Cape Primary Science Programme (PSP)

Director: Ms Zorina Dharsey