Individual Research Awards

Contribution over a lifetime

Prof Eric Donn Bateman

Director: University of Cape Town Lung Institute,
and Honorary Consultant, Division of Pulmonology, Department of Medicine, University of Cape Town

TW Kambule Awards: Researchers

Prof Keertan Dheda

Head, Division of Pulmonology, Department of Medicine, University of Cape Town and Groote Schuur Hospital

Prof Lyn Wadley

Honorary Professor, Department of Archaeology, University of the Witwatersrand

For research capacity development

Contribution through management and related SET

Prof Professor Anne Grobler

Director of the DST/NWU Preclinical Drug Development Platform, NWU
(Also nominated for Research Leading to Innovation in a Corporate Organisation or Institution)

TW Kambule Awards: Emerging Researchers

Prof Wanda Markotter

Associate Professor: Natural and Agricultural Sciences, University of Pretoria

Prof Oriel Matlhahane Thekisoe

Professor & Dean of Faculty of Natural & Agricultural Sciences,
University of the Free State

Individual & Organisational Research Awards

Communication and outreach Award

Prof Azwinndini Muronga

Associate Professor of Physics and Director of UJ Soweto Science Centre, University of Johannesburg

Organisational Awards

Research for Innovation Awards ( SMME & Corporate)

Corporate Winner - Elemental

Prof Arnaud Malan
Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University
of Cape Town

Corporate Winner - Hearing Loss Detection by Smartphone

Team Leader: Professor De Wet Swanepoel
Department of Speech, Language Pathology and Audiology, University of Pretoria

SMME Winner - Treatment Group, Tshwane University of Technology

Prof Johannes Philippus Maree
Team Leader: Rand Water Chair in Water Utilization and Key Structure Holdings (Pty) Ltd