Special Annual Theme Award: for a contribution to science, engineering and technology (SET) and Innovation which contributes towards Sustainable Energy for All

Every year the NSTF Awards celebrate a particular theme in SET. Usually this theme is aligned with the year’s theme as declared by the United Nations (UN). For 2018 this Award is made for a contribution to SET which contributes to or supports Sustainable Energy for All. In line with the UN Decade (2014-2024) for Energy for All.

Additional Criteria

The Annual Theme Award can be awarded according to the criteria in any one of the other Awards categories, which are described in detail on separate pages and the respective nomination forms for each category.

In section 12 of the nomination forms additional input is requested to the extent that is practical.

  • Describe in what way the work and outputs described in the motivation contribute to sustainable energy for all? A comprehensive description is needed and claims in respect of sustainability must be backed up with substantive material. Do not repeat what has already been set out in the motivation, but some reference to the relevant material is then necessary.
  • What further developments would be necessary for the outputs described to become innovations if they are not already?
  • Over and above what has been stated in the motivation, is there any further contribution to sustainable economic growth from the SET work?
  • To what extent does the work and outputs provide for social inclusiveness, employment and poverty reduction?
  • To what extent is the SET work resource efficient, and does it contribute to environmental protection and to the reduction of the effects of/on climate change
  • Describe to what extent the SET work contributes to the preservation of cultural values, supports diversity and respects heritage?
  • Describe to what extent the SET work contributes to mutual understanding and peace and security
  • Describe to what extent the SET work contributes to the extension of access to energy to those who do not at present have such access.


Previous Special Annual Theme Awards:

Year: 2017

Special Annual Theme Award: Sustainable Tourism for Development

Winner: Professor Melville Saayman

Year: 2016

Special Annual Theme Award: Research in Crop Science and Food security

Winner: Professor David Berger

Year: 2015

Special Annual Theme Award: Photonics

WinnerProf Andrew Forbes